In the early 1900s, tenacious silver miners gave the name Solitude to the geographic area now encompassed by Solitude Mountain Resort. The peak of mining activity in the canyon was during the 1870s and 1880s. At that time, the mining area was called the Mountain Lake District and hundreds of mines where located at or within a stone’s throw of Solitude.
Solitude Mountain Resort was developed by Robert M. Barrett, who made his fortune as a Moab uranium miner during the early 1950s and moved to Salt Lake City for the skiing at Alta Ski Area. Barrett bought much of the land in Big Cottonwood Canyon and started construction in 1956. The ski area opened in the fall of 1957 with two chairlifts providing access to most of the area now skied on the front of the mountain.
The Deseelhorst family purchased the resort in the late 1970s. In 1982, the Summit Lift was added opening Honeycomb Canyon to lift-served backcountry skiing. The Deseelhorst’s installed Utah’s first high-speed detachable quad chairlift in 1989. The family then focused on a new village and opened Creekside Condominiums in 1995, the first of our six overnight accommodations, and The Inn at Solitude was completed in 1996. Intrawest Corporation was brought in to build the remaining condominiums under the master plan in 1998 and the Village was completed in 2001.
Deer Valley Resort purchased Solitude from the Deseelhorst family in May 2015. Consistently ranked #1 in service, grooming and on-mountain food by the readers of SKI Magazine, Deer Valley® brings extensive knowledge and experience to the management of Solitude. Deer Valley invested $7 million in improvements at Solitude Mountain Resort for the 2015-2016 season including replacing and realigning the Summit chairlift with a high-speed detachable quad chairlift, cutting a new ski run from the top of Apex Express chairlift to the base of the new Summit Express chairlift, renovating the Moonbeam Lodge guest facilities, increasing guest services presence and purchasing new staff uniforms.